• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
vrok137

OpenGL BEGINNING OPENGL & GLUT

This topic is 4833 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone. I am somewhat of an intermediate level programmer (im no expert) who wants to find out links or resources that teach me opengl/glut. I know C++ well and a little C(like sprintf etc). I also know basic Win32 programming. So would this qualify me worthy enough to learn opengl & glut lol?? If so please direct me where to get opengl and glut, plus some tutorials to get me started. just to let u know, im not a complete noob who want to make another "Halo" in 3 days lol. Here are the list of stuff im currently using to program: DEV C++ 5 BETA MAYA 6 UNLIMITED AXIOMS'S "PIXEL TOOLBOX" (to design cursors & icons for my win apps) WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION W/ SERVICE PACK 2 + NVIDIA 64 MB graphics card (hehe) R THERE ANY SDL/OPENGL TUTORIALS?????? OH YEA.... WILL SDL WORK WITH DEV C++ 5 BETA???????? [Edited by - vrok137 on August 20, 2005 10:32:59 PM]

Advertisement
I started learning OGL briefly after learning C. Then I moved onto C++ since I had a very limited knowledge of C++, and I think in terms of objects. http://nehe.gamedev.net guided me through the early days. http://www.lighthouse3d.com has helped me a lot recently. I also got myself the OpenGL Superbible aswell, a reasonable book for reference.

Addition: Anyone who can make Halo in 3 days deserves respect [wink] if only it wasn't the laws of physics and our own bodies that would prevent someone from physically doing it. I'm having to skip nights of sleep just to get a demo of my game running within the next 30 days!

I've started in OpenGL myself, but I'm using SDL with it - I've never tried GLUT.

SDL is nice and easy too, use OpenGL for your graphics, and SDL for everything else, and you're onto a winner IMHO.

Quote: