• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
moleary

Frustum Calculations

This topic is 4835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

How do I determine the plane equations for the frustum created from the current camera position, direction vector, and my given field of view? Thanks for the help!

Advertisement
You might start here. Or, you can construct the planes in camera space using trig and then transform them into world space.

Keep in mind that you'll also need a reference vector for your orientation (it's not uniquely defined by a position and direction), and an aspect ratio.

Quote:
http://www2.ravensoft.com/users/ggribb/plane%20extraction.pdf
Just to save the OP some time, that's the same paper that I linked to in my post.

I am writing a portal renderer which is why I need this info. I am a newbie in this, so if someone could fill in some blanks, it would be helpful.

I was just imagining that I could compute the frustum plane equations from an arbitrary position, view vector, up vector, field of view, and aspect ratio. But the posted article seems to imply that it must be done through the projection matrix. So, I gather to compute an arbitrary frustum, I must use the modelview matrix to move to the arbitrary location and set up the view and up vectors?

Another thing, what is the difference between glFrustum and gluPerspective? gluPersepective specifies an aspect ratio but one isn't specified with glFrustum. Is it somehow determined with the values passed to glFrustum?

Thanks to everyone who helped out!

Thinking about this some more, I think there are really two things I need to know how to do for a portal renderer. Anyone correct me if I'm wrong here. Please.

1) I need to compute the frustum for the camera location. This will require the projection matrix.