• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
N0M4D

Need help with programming homework

This topic is 4839 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a student at brown college for video game design. I have an assignment due tomorrow and have a problem. I missed the day they discussed functions in class. Our assignment is to create a rock paper scissors game in C++ windows console app using visual studio.net 2003. I'm totally brain farting. Please help...an example of functions would help tons!

Advertisement
It is the policies of the forum not to help on homework questions, however, since you did not ask specifically ask for a solution to your problem but rather for theory, I'll bite.

A function is a "piece of reusable code that returns a value.

#include <iostream>

//This is a function that computes the square of some number.
int computeSquare(int number) {
int tempNumber;
tempNumber = number * number;
return tempNumber;
}

//We call the function in main()
int main() {
//Here we ask the user to input a number.
int someNumber;
int itsSquare;
std::cout << "Input a number: ";
std::cin >> someNumber;

//Here we call the function and compute the square of someNumber and put it in itsSquare.
itsSquare = computeSquare(someNumber);

//Here we write the result to the console.
std::cout << "The square of " << someNumber << "is " << itsSquare << ".";
return 0;
}

In this particular example, we have a function, computeSquare. Let's look at it's definition.

int computeSquare(int number)

This declare a function, called computeSquare, that takes an int as a parameter (called number) that returns another int. if we wanted it to return a double, we'd use double computeSquare(int number).