• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tiba

i'm a beginner so

This topic is 4832 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i just can't imagin how does a game come 2 life well i mean i have a model the hero which will be the main carachter and i have the land or a room how 2 add the charachter to the room and make it walk in the room or by other means what do i use 2 make this , let's say a one room demo which the hero will figh a liitle boss or just walkin or gettin out of a his cell remember a totally beginner who 's askin thanks

Advertisement
Well, first of all, just doing that might be a lot of job for someone who never did anything like that.

It's depend how you want the game or your "demo"

in 2d? in 3d?

What programming skills do you have with all the languages you know or the language.

If you are interested in doing such a thing, you might want to start with a 2D game.

You draw a picture for your charcter. But the algorithms make them move.

A algorithm to make your character move when an arrow key is pressed :
1. erase the character from the screen(or else you'll have 2 characters on the screen)
2. redraw the character 1 space over ( in the direction the arrow key was pressed)
3. your character has moved 1 space, your done.

The monsters that the character fights will have to move on their own. So they will have some different algorith that controls their movement, independant of the arrow keys the player presses. Maybe some stupid monsters that just moves back and forth forever would use this algorithm:

<game loop>
1. if monster is in left positon, then move to right.
2. if monster is in right posisiton, move to left.
<end game loop>