• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ivy

Lua Examples

This topic is 4828 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I started learning lua the other day and was starting to think ways to implement it in a game (Menu, AI, level specific code) Can anyone post specific examples of things they have used or plan to use lua for in their game projects? Even going into detail of how lua would benefit a menu besides removing hard coded numbers would help.

Advertisement
There are many different solutions to implementing scripting into a game project. My recommendation would be that every scriptable entity has its own lua_State and reads its own script file.

Something that I would really like to see (and haven't yet found) is a tutorial or example on how to use a script written in Lua that can change the values of members of a class. What I mean is this:

// C++ class

class MySprite {
public:
int x_position;
int y_position;
bool dead;
};

// Lua script

function move_sprite ()
x_position = 58
y_position = y_position + 5
if (y_position == 12) then
dead = true
end
end

Or if something like this is even possible. I know enough with C++/Lua that I can extract data from a Lua file and then save it to a C++ variable, but it would be so much easier if I could pass Lua a pointer to a class object and have it modify that data in the script itself without any more handling. I'm still very new and naive to the world of scripting (plus another guy on my team has been doing the majority of this stuff so far). If someone could post a good, complete tutorial and Lua game scripting and outline what you can/can not do, that would be freaking awesome. [wink] I'm reading the Programming in Lua text right now, but a tutorial on this specific subject would really help a lot.

[/source]

Using LuaPlus (example from LuaPlus's TestScript.cpp):

class VECTOR
{