• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
blure

Java 3D game engine

This topic is 4835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am trying to create a masive online RPG and am just getting started. What is a really good java 3d game engine that is afordable to a begginer?

Advertisement
Just so you know, blure, many of the rest of the users here are probably joining me in the ancient ritual of shaking one's head wearily, then resting it in the palms of one's hands and sighing.

But don't take it personally. The fact of the matter is, a million and one people come through here every year with a statement almost identical to yours (I'm just getting started, and I'm going to create a MMORPG), and a million of them forget it.

They have good reason to: a MMORPG is one of the most complex types of games on the market today. It involves multiple subsystems (graphics, networking, data management, gameplay, time coordination) working together on a grand scale to bring together hundreds to thousands of different players in different scenarios on wildly different machines. The games you buy on the shelf at Wal-Mart have taken large (in excess of 100 members) teams of professionals over a year to make -- and even then, they rarely work perfectly.

You don't hear about the other attempts -- those made by individuals such as yourself, or cooperative community attempts. They die painful deaths. Planeshift is the only one I know of that's still going, probably because they managed to form a corporation and have a few individuals with good leadership and business sense.

If you're a beginner, the place to start is not a MMORPG. You'll get frustrated and depressed and eventually throw in the towel, maybe even forget programming altogether (whether you should or not is definitely a different matter).