• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ilankt

Guide lines to cell phone programminig?

This topic is 4826 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a C++ Programmer that want to program games for cell phones. I have no idea where to start, I have no experience in programming to cell phones... BTW, I'm aiming for the Motorola cell phones (I have Motorola E398). Any tip/aiming/link will be great. Thanks.

Advertisement
Remember that each cell phone is different. Just because it works fine on one cell phone does not guarntee it will work on another. There are alot of phone specific problems such as Sprint that have their own APIs for their phones. Make sure you have a strong programming background in Java (preferably J2ME) because that is what most cell phones support. If you want to use C\C++ through BREW you can create games for the computer using dlls, however you will not be able to port them onto the phone because BREW compilers cost alot of money.

~guyaton

Test on the real device.
Phone emulators are mostly more like simulators simply 'reimplementing' MIDP on the PC. The results often are quite different from what you get on the actual device.
Example: I once implemented a nice rendering optimization on a SonyEriccsson K700 emu just to find out after two days of work that it actually cost me performance on the real device.

First, already stated above, emulator != hardware.

Second, EMULATOR != HARDWARE. Just to make that really clear. ;)

Third, every cell phone is a different cell phone. They can be VERY different, or LITTLE different, but they are ALWAYS different. Don't assume that since some 2 models have the same screen resolution, memory, firmware, installed libraries, etc that your code will run on both the same way. Always test on all devices - don't assume anything.