• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
FlowingOoze

Fantasizing about the best general purpose language

This topic is 4833 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been programming for quite a while. Languages that I'm most familiar with are Java and C++, but I've got some experience with several other languages. While I'm fairly happy with C++ and I like a lot of it's features, I believe that as a general purpose programming language, it's not really as useful as it could be. Since C++ is based on C, it comes with a lot of Cs pitfalls and a large part of C++ programming is dealing with things like memory management, which is mostly trivial in languages with garbage collection. So basically I'm looking for a programming language that would have the following features, not necessarily in order of preference: - Portable, ie. there actually are compatible compilers and environments for different platforms. - Easy and efficient access from the language to libraries written in C. - Sufficient support libraries and hopefully already existing bindings for common libraries, like OpenGL. - Efficiency comparable to C++. Doesn't have to be as fast as C++, but shouldn't be an order of magnitude slower. - Garbage collection - Exceptions - Efficient generic programming, with all or most of the goodies that C++ has, including operator overloading. - Lambda functions - Clean syntax. (Rules out LISP with it's nasty prefix notation and excessive use of parentheses.) - Easy to make stand alone programs that don't require the user to install excessive amounts of support programs and libraries. - Typesafe - Low cost/free compiler. Free runtime environment. Optional features: - dynamic class loading or dynamic modules incorporated in the language of some kind. DLL's don't count. I'll add new features to this list, if I'll think of any. [Edited by -