Getting bad values on D3DDevice-Reset() after Alt-Tab...

Started by
12 comments, last by Moe 18 years, 8 months ago
Hey all, I seem to have run into yet another minor technical problem with the program that I am working on. Being a good programmer, I am trying to set my program up so that it handles an Alt-Tab situation gracefully. So far, I have been able to Alt-Tab out of the program (when it is running fullscreen), but the minute that I go back in, all heck seems to break loose. (Okay, so maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration[rolleyes]). Anyway, after Alt-Tabbing back into the program, it crashes. I have been running it through the debugger to see what I can catch, and it appears that the D3DDevice->Reset() method is giving me back an invalid return type. I ran it through the debugger a few more times to see if everything valid was being passed in, and so far it looks decent. The only one that seemed that it was perhaps out of place was the handle to the window. Do I need to pass in a fresh handle to the window after an Alt-Tab? Any other thoughts on what could be causing the Reset() method to botch? (I would post code, but it is a bit lengthy, although I can do so if you desire).
Advertisement
Use the debugger to see where/why does it crash and tell us.

Also, be sure to release any resources created with the D3DPOOL_DEFAULT flag before calling Reset() on the device.
Well, so far the only resources I am using are created in the D3DXFont system, and I am not sure how it stores things internally.

I managed to prevent it from crashing. I noticed that I wasn't checking the return type on my Reset() method when I should have been. So, I got that solved. Now I just need to figure out why my D3DDevice->Reset is failing. I am beginning to suspect that I have to pass in a fresh handle to the window...

I will give it another run through the debugger...
Call ID3DXFont::OnLostDevice before reseting the device and ID3DXFont::OnResetDevice afterwards.