• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
rexTroianus

My first SDL application - need help

This topic is 4776 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello guys, I started learning SDL, and here is what I made today. Source code and .exe are included. What I want to do is when user presses Space key, the bullet is fired, and it 'flies' up to the end of the screen. Check out my code, and tell me what to fix please. Download SDL_demo.zip Thank you, RexTroianus

Advertisement
Okay, you're probably going to slap yourself when you see what the problem is [smile].

The problem is that your code draws a vertical line from the place the bullet is shot to the place it ends at y=0. This line is only drawn once the first time the bullet is shot, so you probably won't even see it. The next time the bullet is shot it starts from y=0 and ends at y=0 because you don't reset the starting position of the bullet. So, how can this all be fixed? Easily! [grin]

First we'll change this piece of code:

switch (keyPressed)
{
case SDLK_SPACE:
fire = true;
}

to:

switch (keyPressed)
{
case SDLK_SPACE:
{
if(fire==false)
{
fire = true;
BulletX = batX + batWidth / 2;
BulletY = batY + batHeight /2;
}
}break;
}

What this does is set fire to true and set the start position of the bullet only if the bullet isn't
current being fired.

And now we'll change this code:

if (fire == true)
{
while (BulletY > 0)
{
drawBullet(bullet,
screen,
BulletImageX, BulletImageY,
BulletX, BulletY,
BulletWidth, BulletHeight);
BulletY -= 1;
}

fire = false;
}

to:

if (fire == true)
{
if(BulletY > 0)
{
drawBullet(bullet,
screen,
BulletImageX, BulletImageY,
BulletX, BulletY,
BulletWidth, BulletHeight);
BulletY -= 1;
}
else
{
fire = false;
}
}

This will update the position of the bullet each frame and only draw it in it's new position.