• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
abeylin

C++ string question

This topic is 4681 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm a C programmer, and this is how I use dynamic memory in C: <code> char *p = (char *) malloc(256); if (p == NULL) { fprintf(stderr, "get_hello: Cannot allocate 256 bytes\n"); return (NULL); } strcpy(p, "hello world!"); } </code> In C++ I invision doing this: <code> string s("hello world!"); </code> How do I know that there was enough memory to store the "hello world!" string? It's possible the constructor failed to allocate memory, what would happen in that case? What if I do this: <code> string s; s = "hello"; s += " world!"; </code> Than what? it had to do a realloc (ok in the simple example above it probably didn't, but if the second string was big enough that it hadn't preallocated enough memory, it would have to reallocate more space). How do I check the memory allocation that's happening behind the scenes in the string class?

Advertisement
If the constructor cannot allocate memory it should throw an exception.
An exception is a method commonly used in C++ to handle critic errors.
Another possibility, less common, is to use your own memory allocators (see custom std allocators).

Quote:
Original post by abeylin
In C++ I invision doing this:
<code>
string s("hello world!");
</code>

How do I know that there was enough memory to store the "hello world!" string?

Because the program keeps running. See below...

Quote:
It's possible the constructor failed to allocate memory, what would happen in that case?