• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mistro

Computer Science vs Software Engineering (yes I read the article)

This topic is 4771 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well as the title says, I did read that gamasutra article on computer science vs software engineering, but what I need to know is, In your opnion, which would be the better university program to take if going into game programming? I am asking this because as a final year highschool student, I have to make my university program choices. However, after reading that article, I am now more confused than ever! I have been programming for a little over 4 years now and have about 3 years of c++ experiance. I have been programming "hobby" games alot starting with the classics such as tetris and pong and currently working on this 3d Spaceship RTS game which is coming along nicely as I have the main game engine fairly complete and am spending some time working on the graphics bits right now since that is just as important to spend some good time on if you're doign your own graphics. But the thing is, of my choices of universities (considering accesibility, cost, and reputation) only two of the school offer software engineering as a course. The rest all offer computer science. Now my interest is in actually programming things using ideas I find or think of my self. I am not too into the maths part of things but ofcourse I do have a fairly good grasp as game programming does deal with that quite a bit obviously. Now the things is, if I pursue a course in Software engineering, what types of jobs related to game programming will I be able to go for and be comfortable with as compared to computer science. As a looooong term goal I am looking into prehaps working for a bigname company such as ID or EA... I understand that Programmers don't really make much as compared to other