• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
crimson fury

This Newbie needs Your Advice

This topic is 4768 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a 15-year old programmer from Canada wanting to make a sci-fi 3D RTS. Experience: 3-4 years with C/C++ using Win32 GDI and OpenGL. Have done basic things like loading models, heightmaps, textures, and fog. Have been trying to make a worthy game ever since I was 11, but abandoned most projects half-way through. Have occasionally visited gamedev for programming help. Now I need advice... I want to start a serious long-term project. What should I do first? Are there any game engines to make my life easier? Any sites to visit?

Advertisement
Some generic long-term project advice: have a design before you start doing any serious coding.

I know this from experience. The project I'm working on now, I didn't really know what I was doing, and just started writing code. As a result its taken much longer than it should have because I've had to rewrite so many parts (some parts I've rewritten several times).

Well if your biggest problem is abandoning projects half way through, perhaps starting an even larger project isn't the best idea. I personally prefer working on smaller stuff that I know I can finish, and make it fun and polished, rather than a large project that will most likey never get done, or if it does will be buggy and not fun.

However, if you want to make an RTS you should check out Torque and the RTS Starter Pack.

Best of luck!
Matt Hughson

My advice: don't be overly ambitious.

4 years of experience with C++ does not equate to 4 years of experience with large projects.

Perhaps to get used to working with a large project and a large codebase, rather than do a difficult game (e.g. RTS) do a simple game and add a huge feature list (e.g. Pong).