Per-pixel lighting??

Started by
12 comments, last by zike22 18 years, 8 months ago
How do you do per-pixel lighting in 2d. Do you know of any articles or tutorials. Is it just transparency-blending or something??
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- My Email: [email=zike22@aol.com]zike22@aol.com[/email] - My AIM: zike22@AIM
"Facts are chains that bind perception and fetter truth. For a man can remake the world if he has a dream and no facts to cloud his mind." - The Emperor, WarHammer 40K
Advertisement
Although I have no experience with per pixel lighting in 2D (or very much in 3D for that matter), I would have to say that it's probably no different. Well, maybe a little different. You might be able to ignore or fix the z coordinate to some value, to simply calculations.
All the tutorials i saw delth with the angle of the light and what not, can I really just drop Z coordinates??
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- My Email: [email=zike22@aol.com]zike22@aol.com[/email] - My AIM: zike22@AIM
"Facts are chains that bind perception and fetter truth. For a man can remake the world if he has a dream and no facts to cloud his mind." - The Emperor, WarHammer 40K
All the tutorials i saw delth with the angle of the light and what not, can I really just drop Z coordinates??
Quote:
About dropping z coordinates

Probably not, depending on your technique you'll still need a fake z coordinate to generate alright tangent space normals.

--CJM
Quote:Original post by CJM

Probably not, depending on your technique you'll still need a fake z coordinate to generate alright tangent space normals.

There's no need to transform coordinates into tangent space when doing per-pixel lighting in 2D.

EDIT: zike22, if you don't want to use shaders, you can use OrangyTang's method.