• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
saske

.map, .bsp confusion???

This topic is 4770 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to 3D game development. I have very little information on how levels in a game are made. Are modelling s/w like 3DS Max used to make the levels? If so, then how are these maps converted to .bsp files. I was thinking of using Irrlicht as a 3D engine. Any information would be highly appreciated.

Advertisement
For create Quake 3 maps you can use Q3radiant. Google for that :)
With that tool, you also can compile .map files to .bsp files.
I tested some maps made with Q3Radiant on Irrlicht, and works good.

I have limited knowledge here, but it's depending on the tools you have and the game.
For some games or engines you can use 3DS or MAYA to make props, structures and sometimes whole maps. Other games can require special built editors just made for them.

These maps may be imported into a map builder tool that exports or compile a version of "map" speciffic to your game.

Let's take the .BSP for example. It require some sort of map editor, that can model the floors and walls in rectangular "cubes". This is required by the .BSP format, when it can only handle "convex surfaces" (hope i got that right).
The .MAP format you get when saving a map in your favourite Quake map editor consist of all the data for your level, but it's not before you export it as a .BSP all the visibility calculations and the "BSP Tree" is calculated.

Quote:
Original post by Android_s
I have limited knowledge here, but it's depending on the tools you have and the game.
For some games or engines you can use 3DS or MAYA to make props, structures and sometimes whole maps. Other games can require special built editors just made for them.