• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Jarlax

Help wirh networking (msg handler function)

This topic is 4857 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, I am rather new to DirectX and have been working my way through a book I bought to learn some concepts. I am trying to enhance an example and have run into trouble. I am creating a server and client application using DirectPlay. I created a network class to encapsulate some of the functionality for reuse but I am having trouble with the ServerMessageHandler function. I have the prototype in my resource file like this: class cNetwork { private: IDirectPlay8Server *m_pDPServer; static HRESULT WINAPI NetworkMsgHandler(PVOID context, DWORD msgid, PVOID data); public: cNetwork(); ~cNetwork(); }; The problem I have is that every time the handle function is called the context is null. It does not matter if the message is coming from the server or a client application. Without the context I cannot get a handle to the server variable and so I cannot do anything. Here is the basic setup of the code: HRESULT WINAPI cNetwork::NetworkMsgHandler(PVOID context, DWORD msgid, PVOID data) { // Get a pointer to the calling network object. cNetwork *network = (cNetwork*)context; if(network == NULL) { return E_FAIL; } DPNMSG_CREATE_PLAYER *CreatePlayer; DPNMSG_DESTROY_PLAYER *DestroyPlayer; DPNMSG_RECEIVE *ReceiveData; switch(msgid) { case DPN_MSGID_CREATE_PLAYER: break; case DPN_MSGID_DESTROY_PLAYER: DestroyPlayer = (DPNMSG_DESTROY_PLAYER*)data; break; case DPN_MSGID_RECEIVE: ReceiveData = (DPNMSG_RECEIVE*)data; break; } return S_OK; } Can anyone help me on where to look or what is going on? I really cannot go any further with my exercise at this point. Thanks, Jarlax

Advertisement
Does anyone have any ideas? Is there anything more I can/should post to help find my issue?

Thanks!