• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ravan

Yo. Math tutorials anyone?

This topic is 4775 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have little knowledge in Trig... I can make an object rotate around in a circle with cosine and sine... that's about it. I want to learn how to do other things... And math books don't pertain to games. So does anyone know where I can find a tutorial for game math? A real nice one that helps you understand why things work and not just throws equations at you and expects you to go "Oh! I get it" Many thanks.

Advertisement
No offense, but as an engineering student at a university, I assure you, everything you need to know can be found in your math book, and that math book does pertain to games, as it pertains to build bridges, as it pertains to landing on the moon.

The only thing different about games is that everything is virtual and inside of a computer.

As for the math tutorials, search the web for anything to do with calculus and get an early start. You'll be amazed once you start learning math what all it can do, and the relationships of how one relates to the other should get more clear as you continue on.

If someone knows of a good "Math as it pertains to making games" book, it'd be good here. I'd check your local library for it, and especially your college/university library if you can get access. I know my library has a book about OpenGL (as it's been how I've been learning the API myself), you never know what kind of gold you'll find flipping through everything.

Good Luck!

Quote:
Original post by Adam Gleason
YEH GO CALCULUS... wait did i say that to loud...

hehe

it's ok, we won't tell anyone...

Hi Ravan,