• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
basement

bottom-up vs. top-down

This topic is 4674 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Uhm, I have to admit I'm not really a software engineering guy but I'm working on a new project and have to think a lot about it. What we're doing on this project right now (a PC game) is implementing it in a top down approach i.e. we're doing most/all the user interface first, then we'll fill in the blanks like coding up the 3D engine features, the actual gamecode and so on. I'm much more used to doing it the other way though... My peers though seem to like with playing around in the interface and dreaming up the game that would be behind it someday. I'm reading the book "The Pragmatic Programmer" right now which seems to suggest that it is a good idea to have the user interface working first, so I feel I'm doing something right with this project. Do you know of any additional good resources I could look at? It is a rather fundamental thing doing a larger project this way. EDIT: formatting

Advertisement
Guest Anonymous Poster
User Interfaces are easy - 3D Games are hard.

It is ok to do the interface now, as long as you do more than just that.

Top down vs bottom up, you will use both in a large project, don't worry about it.

The order that you work on things is determined by dependencies -- if A can't be done without B, then obviously B must be done first.

The next criteria depends on who you talk to. In my opinion, the next criteria is risk (as measured by the probability of failure times the impact of failure). That is, if A and B are independent, the first one to work on should be the one that is most likely to fail or the one whose failure will have the biggest impact on the project.