• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
citronrock

OpenGL i need some help !! thx (layer, color key...)

This topic is 4828 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i'm a proper beginner in openGl , i worked for a long time with directX, but now, i really wanna change, it's boring me a lot.... but i can't find a tutorial whith an explanation about pictures, layers, alpha colors.... i just want to see on my screen : a picture ( in full screnn ) , and a second picture on the first ( so i need to declare a key color on this , and the 2nd picture like a layer...) , then i'd like to know how i can "destroy" the second one like a worms-like, what i need to know ? thx a lot for this , thx indeed.

Advertisement
To create a texture for rendering, you'll need to use glTexImage2D(). Don't forget to create it with glGenTextures() first. Also, don't forget to set the texture filters using glTexParameteri(), or you'll be scratching your head while wondering why it's not working.

To render a texture like this, the best way is to bind it to a quad using glBindTexture(), then render it as necessary. Don't forget to enable texturing using glEnable().

To render a quad that takes up the full screen, you can use this code:

//This gets the current matrix mode, so we can restore it later
GLint matrixMode;
glGetIntegerv(GL_MATRIX_MODE,&matrixMode);

//Assuming you're using your own projection matrix, this wont hurt it
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glPushMatrix();
glLoadIdentity();
glOrtho(-1.0f,1.0f,-1.0f,1.0f,-1.0f,1.0f);

//This wont hurt your translations/rotations either
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glPushMatrix();
glLoadIdentity();

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glVertex3f(-1.0f,-1.0f,0.0f);
glVertex3f(+1.0f,-1.0f,0.0f);
glVertex3f(+1.0f,+1.0f,0.0f);
glVertex3f(-1.0f,+1.0f,0.0f);
glEnd();

glPopMatrix();
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glPopMatrix();