Sign in to follow this  
capone888

Visual C++ Vs. C++?

Visual C++ is Microsoft's C++ compiler plus an advanced IDE and debugger. So one is a toolset (Visual C++) and the other is the language the toolset is designed to work with (C++).

Cheers,
Twilight Dragon

C++ is the language.

Visial C++ is the IDE (Integrate Developement Envrinment) that Microsoft created for developing C++ in.

ace

C++ is the name of a programming language. Visual C++ is the name of one program that you can use to write programs in C++. Visual C++ is called a C++ compiler or development environment. Other C++ compilers include gcc, Comeau C++, and Metrowerks C++.

Wow - thanks for the very quick responses.

I wanted to learn some basic C++ just to satisfy my own interest. I have a book already "Sams Teach Yourself Visual C++ 6 in 21 Days". I have Microsoft's Visual Studio 6, so I believe this is all I need to get started. Could anyone comment on this book that may have used it? I am a beginner, but have basic knowledge of C - now I just want to learn more about OOP.

Also, am I wasting my time learning C++ 6, since I am beginning, should I go right in to C++ for .NET? My hope one day would to be able to create a space invader clone on my very own. I know alot of game libraries today are already written in C++ 6 and that may be why alot of people still use it. But since I am new - should I begin with .NET?

Please go easy on me, I am new to all of this? Thanks for your time.