Sign in to follow this  
Trapper Zoid

Patents in game design?

I've got a question about patents. I'm not an expert in patent law, but as far as I understand the intent of the system, you cannot cover entire application domains with a patent, correct? For example, if I developed a foam game controller so that players could hurl it at a wall without breaking anything, I could patent the design of the controller or the process used to make it, but I couldn't protect the entire domain of unbreakable controllers. Or if I somehow developed a revolutionary algorithm for displaying 4D information on a 2D screen, I could only protect that particular method for solving the problem. I couldn't protect the idea of having 4D on a 2D screen itself. However, this is where I start getting confused, as I also thought you could protect pure algorithms with a patent. The reason I'm asking this is that I'm working on implementing some research that I've done, which is based on other research made by Ph.D. students back in the previous few decades. However, I've found out that someone has some patents that vaguely cover the domain that I'm working in. I'm fairly sure that the stuff that I'm using as the basis of my work is patent-free, and should provide me with some prior art protection. But I'm starting to get a bit overly paranoid about treating on other people's IP toes, and wouldn't want to risk any potential legal trouble in a few years time. Edit: forgot to add; I'm just not all that sure exactly what a specific patent will cover, since they are written in a weird form of English called "legalese" which seems to cover absolutely anything and everything even remotely close to the implementation in question. All those general claim points make my heat hurt!

Guest Anonymous Poster