• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
halo360

very newbie programing questions

This topic is 4798 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok i have a few. please don't flame i am very new to this and need some advice from programmers. ok first question. is it possable to make games with vb.net? and what is the differance between c++ and c#, and which should i try, c++ or c #, or both. and one last thing. is visual basic.net easier then c++ or c#?

Advertisement
C++, C#, and Visual Basic are three different languages. The last two have many things in common, since they run using much the same software libraries. Both of them are much simpler to learn than C++. All three may be used to make a game. If you have never programmed before, I would suggest programming in Python, but C# will also work.

Quote:

it possable to make games with vb.net?

Yes.

Quote:
and what is the differance between c++ and c#, and which should i try, c++ or c #, or both.

They're simmilar syntax but some minor differences. C# is managed, so it has garbage collection and some other features. It's much easier to make Windows GUIs with C# since it's easily integrated with .NET. C# doesn't have pointers (well, they don't encourage using them) so it may be easier to start out that C++ but generally the two are simmilar. I would recommend you do some research on both, give em both a try and see what you prefer. It also depends on what your goals are.

Quote:

and one last thing. is visual basic.net easier then c++ or c#?

IMHO, It's simpler yes, this is subjective of course but I think it's generally agreed. (By simpler I don't mean less functional. I believe anything you can do with C# you can do with VB.NET since it's the same Intermediate Lang.)

1. It is possible to make games with vb.net