• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
halo360

recomendation needed, newbie questions also

This topic is 4791 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok im a first time programer. well in this kind of programing, i used and still do html. but i need a recomendation between these two, i need to know which i should start out with, c++ or c#. and what site or place can i find out about the differances between the two? im a newbie so try not to flame please. thank you.

Advertisement
oh ya, and i have both. i downloaded visual c++ express edition beta 2 from microsoft and visual c# express edition beta 2 from the same place.

actually i couldn't really find what i was looking for there. i just really need a recomendation. c++ or c#, i couldn't find anything in those areas.

Whether you choose C++ or C# isn't really our call. I would suggest you look them over and see which one you find easier to understand. In the end, it doesn't matter what we think. If you are more comfortable with C#, then use it. If you prefer C++, use that. They are both just fine for game programming. You might get a number of arguments about performance, etc., but that doesn't matter. Use what you like and get on with life!

Either one will do you fine. C# may be a bit easier, but you will want to learn both in the future (perhaps after you learn the first). Don't worry about the language, just get coding.

Ah, another of the standard questions.

The short answer is, it doesn't make a scrap of difference.
Of course, beginners are always extremely focused on this question, because when you're just deciding to learn programming, it's the one question you're really aware of.