• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DragonXXIV

Help Needed, File Compression

This topic is 4818 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm a newb to all programming and this may be better off in the beginers section, but I don't think that it will recieve the right kind of help there. I don't even know if this is the right place, so don't flame me please. NOTE: I'm programming this game in Java. Anyway, on to the question. I have thought up a great idea for a battle system in the RPG I am making. Basically the whole thing will be cinematic; you select a technique and instead of your character doing a simple attack like in most RPGs it does a whole animation. Now, here is where the problem arises. The amount of animations (if prerendered) will obviously take up a lot of space, but I need them to fit on 2 normal disks. I can up it to 4 max but I want to try to keep it at 2. So, is there a way to compress these animations down to an extremely small size, while still being able to uncompress and play them instantaneously or at least really, really fast. Or, is there another way to do this while still keeping it 2d. I DO NOT need an exact method, I just need to know if it's possible or if I should give up and try something else. Thanks in advance. [Edited by - DragonXXIV on September 4, 2005 5:57:29 PM]

Advertisement
Guest Anonymous Poster
Some ideas:

-Vector based graphics

-Make up characters from common parts then just keep track of rotations, translations, etc. So it's just raw text not actual graphics. This way you'll just need background images and then compose a character of arms, legs, torso, head and then animated them accordingly.

Well hope that helps, thought I had a 3rd idea but it flew the coup.