Sign in to follow this  
d3dm33t

Getting foot in the door

I am a college student with one year left in Computer Science. I would like to get into the games industry. Right now I am a beta tester for a few gamming companies. What is the best way to list this on my resume? I relize I can't discuss games before they are released, but what would be the best way to list games that I have beta tested for and have been released? Any help would be appreciated.

Besy way I'd say is to have something along the lines of Beta tester for company X, (references avaliable upon request) - where you have a reference to someone in that company (upper management) that can vouche that you indeed did beta test. So if someone wants to know whether or not you really did, you can refer them to your old company. You could also get something like a letter of reccomendation as proof (not sure what the proper term for it is in the business world).

But yea, you don't want to go discussing stuff, so that's why you add the "avaliable upon request", where you can either get them to sign a NDA or something of that sort if you go into the details or show work (assuming the old company lets you and such).

Just my idea, I'm not an expert at these things though..., but it's what I would do [wink]

BTW, if you really want to look good to a games company, you should have some nice code samples and demos prepared. Beta testing games doesn't really look as desirable as experience and skills on your resume (but it definately doesn't hurt). Since you will be coming straight out of college, you should make up for your lack of development experience in the industry by showing your development skills.

I am working on that now actually. It's just hard to know I am learning the riht things. I have been programming since I was 10 (about 20 years off and on) but when I got to college it seemed like everything I learned was wrong.

Guest Anonymous Poster