Sign in to follow this  
GenuineXP

Building Libraries (for SDL)

Hello. I'm a beginner working with SDL. I recently added a few threads to get some help with loading images into my sprite class. Well, I have a new question. :-P I'm trying to create an isometric game, but I don't want to use sprites for the tiles. Instead, I want to draw the tiles using polygons. I've found several libraries for SDL that seem to make drawing polygons a snap... but I have no idea how to use them! I'm using Code::Blocks and the GNU GCC Compiler, so I can't use any of the DSP files that come with the packages to build the libraries. How can I go about doing this? All I need are the library files and the headers, but I have no idea how to make them! Any help is very appreciated. Thanks in advance. :-)

If you mentioned what libraries you are trying to get built, it might be a bit easier to help you.

I'm looking at two libraries, actually.

One is called SDL_gfx. http://www.ferzkopp.net/~aschiffler/Software/SDL_gfx-2.0/

The other is called SDL_draw. http://sdl-draw.sourceforge.net/

SDL_gfx seems more favorable. It has support for alpha blending at high speed with hardware acceleration and anti-aliasing certain primitives like lines and circles.

Does that help...?

Thanks for the quick reply, by the way. :-)

Step by step

* File->New Project
* Dynamic Link Library, "Do not create any files"
* Right click on "DLL Sample" on the left bottom pane, select add files and select all the .h/.c files for SDL_Gfx (i just copied them all to a new folder where I made this project at)
* Hit Ctrl+F11 and Yes to build everything

Your library should now be made. Of course you will get a lot of messages:

Project : DLL Sample
Compiler : GNU GCC Compiler (called directly)
Directory : C:\Documents and Settings\Drew Benton\Desktop\SDL_gfx--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Switching to target: default
Compiling: SDL_gfxPrimitives.c