SCTP in MMO Development

Started by
1 comment, last by stake 18 years, 7 months ago
I'm a researcher at the University of Delaware. Specifically in the Protocol Engineering Lab of the Dept. of Computer and Information Science. We are exploring the usefulness of the Stream Control Transmission Protocol (SCTP) to the development/scalability/performance of MMO games. SCTP is a connection oriented protocol (TCP-like), and also message based (UDP-like). SCTP also has TCP-friendly congesstion control. Of particular interest to MMO development, is a feature known as PR (Partially Reliable service). It gives a sender the ability to allow a message to time-out while it is still in the outbound queue at the sender's end. However, as a research group, none of us have coded an MMO or are even that sure of how the clients and servers communicate (bytes/sec, msg formats, avg. round trip times, etc). If I could get feedback here on the forums or possibly in-depth via email that would be great. For SCTP reference please see: http://tdrwww.exp-math.uni-essen.de/inhalt/forschung/sctp_fb/ http://www.sctp.org/sctpoverview.html http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2960.txt And specifically for SCTP Partially Reliable Extention: ftp://ftp.rfc-editor.org/in-notes/rfc3758.txt Thanks, ~Ethan Giordano
Advertisement
Last time I looked at SCTP, it wasn't widely adopted, and didn't solve the actual needs for a real-time interactive game.

The most important thing to understand about interactive games is that they are real-time, low-latency data. For the vast majority of the traffic, if the packet doesn't make it to the destination within a very small window (range of 50 ms to 500 ms depending on architecture), the data is stale, and you'll be better off just dropping the packet and sending a newer, fresher state the next time you update. It's not dis-similar to VOIP needs, really -- low latency, and real-time.