• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kest

Ambience with normal mapping

This topic is 4842 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've managed to hack together a system to normal map using dot product3. Take a look. The room on the left has been normal mapped: Image Hosted by ImageShack.us Please forgive the crude textures. I'm not an artist. So far, all of the code for this is in the vertex shader. But it only works in object space. That means the normal map texture needs to be specifically created for the orientation of the model. The models can be rotated and such, but the texture coordinates can't be backwards or flipped (a double sided wall wouldn't be able to use the same normal texture on both sides). This is a problem, so I'll most likely have to take UV coords into account later on. Anyway, as you can see, everything is very dark. I'm having trouble adding ambient lighting into the diffuse colors, since the diffuse is what is used to calculate the lighting directions. For example, for x, 0 is left facing, 128 is front/up facing, and 256 is right facing. Anyone know how I could add the ambience into this? I could multiply, but the result wouldn't be the same as for unbumped rendering. Here's the current hacked together shader I'm using:
vStage2Output vsMethod_Hack(vNormInput IVertex)
{
	vStage2Output OVertex;
	float4 Pos;

// Transform Vertex into World space
	Pos = mul( float4(IVertex.Pos.xyz, 1.0f), WorldMatrix);

float3 ldir;
	ldir.x = -( (LightDir.x * WorldMatrix._11) + (LightDir.y * WorldMatrix._12) + (LightDir.z * WorldMatrix._13) );
	ldir.y = -( (LightDir.x * WorldMatrix._21) + (LightDir.y * WorldMatrix._22) + (LightDir.z * WorldMatrix._23) );
	ldir.z = -( (LightDir.x * WorldMatrix._31) + (LightDir.y * WorldMatrix._32) + (LightDir.z * WorldMatrix._33) );
	ldir = normalize( ldir );