• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Dika

Wont compile :( plz help

This topic is 4819 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well im new to programming with directX and I keep getting this error when I go to complile: error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _D3DXCreateFontA@48 Im just trying to draw some text to the screen. I create a font object by calling: D3DXCreateFont(gD3dDevice, 20, 0, FW_BOLD, 0, FALSE, DEFAULT_CHARSET, OUT_DEFAULT_PRECIS, DEFAULT_QUALITY, DEFAULT_PITCH | FF_DONTCARE, TEXT("Arial"), &font ) I have the dx9 sdk installed as well as the june 2005 update and im using visual studio 6. Ive added d3d9.lib d3dx9.lib to project > settings> link >object Any ideas as to why this is happening?? OK im going to add one more problem im having and this has nothing to do with my previous problem (I think). im trying to draw a sprite and it compiles fine using this code: HRESULT LoadSprite() { if(SUCCEEDED(D3DXCreateSprite(gD3dDevice,&sprite))) { D3DXVECTOR3 pos; pos.x=10.0f; pos.y=20.0f; pos.z=0.0f; sprite->Begin(D3DXSPRITE_ALPHABLEND); sprite->Draw(gTexture,NULL,NULL,&pos,0xFFFFFFFF); sprite->End(); return S_OK; } return E_FAIL; } when I run the exe it crashes right away and pops up a big message saying: Debug error! Program: c:\documents\..blah blah blah Module: File: i386\chkesp.c Line: 42 The value of ESP was not properly saved across a function call. This is usually the result of calling a function declared with one calling convention with a function pointer declared with a different calling convention. Im following a tutorial and doing what was said. What am I doing wrong? Can it be due to how im loading the texture? Thank you for your help in advance. [Edited by - Dika on September 9, 2005 7:14:39 PM]

Advertisement