• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Malphonic

Step By Step

This topic is 4812 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, As you can see it's my first time here, and I just want to say I'm really to find such a great place, that can offer a little bit of relif/help to "newbies" like us. I'm from generation "X". And I grew up with gaming all my life. I've never really been into sports and such. And recently, an oppurtunie arrose which may be able to offer me a internship at a game devolpers. So I was wondering what step does video game designing/programing take? I can't really find a step-by-step video game guide. I was wondering if any of you could help me out with this. Do any of you know any good guides that tell you where to start and what you need? Thanks! -Jake

Advertisement
not sure if i really do understand your question but let's go.

first of all game developpement is divided in very specific aspect, the programmation, music, modeling... etc etc, watch the credits of a game and you will see it.

Do you want to develop game for pure pleasure or you would like to do it as a real job. Because you first need to find what you would like to do in the game..

coding the artificial inteligence? coding the 3d engine, making the music? modeling the 3d object?

You could learn it all if you want, but it would take a lot of time to get used to all of this and it would be better if you choose a specific aspect, like the programmation. If you learn programmation, you could code the 3d engine, and the AI if you want it's still programmation, 2 different thing but done by the same way.

The same for the 3d, you could model the object, anime then...

If you tell us what you would like to do in the games, tell us and we will be able to point in a specific direction :)