• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Myth000

3d Visualisation (3d to 2d)

This topic is 4816 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I want to calculate the 2d location in let's say a graph, from 3d coordinates. I'm new to this subject and I have no idea how to do it. I found a few tutorials, but when they started talking about matrixes I get confused :S. I do ahve experience with OpenGL, but yea, I want to make some non-realtime render engine for fun :). Not sure if I can call it engine, my first objective is drawing a few pixels... then a line, then a cube, then triangles. Thanks, - Myth

Advertisement
Say you want 2d coordinates on a x-y plane, and your 3d coordinates are (x, y, z). It's actually as simple as z=0. (x, y) are your 2d coordinates! To teach you a fancy term, this is called the projection of a vector on a plane. [smile]

z = 0*(x, y)?
I don't quite get it..
If you have x,y,z respectivicly {10,10,10}
You'd have: 10 = 0*(10,10) ...?
There won't be much left to solve + it won't equel 10, erm..
I don't mean your equetion is incorrect, it proberly is good, I just don't get it.
I lost my train of though :P

Guest Anonymous Poster
It sounds like you want to write your own graphics pipeline.

First it helps to understand how what you're doing in openGL works. In OpenGL you're working with matrices all the time, you just might not realize it since there are functions that do everything you need with them. glTranslate, glRotate, and glScale actually build matrices that represent translation, rotation, and scaling and then multiply the current matrix by them.