• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Zische

CgFXCreateEffectFromFileA fails

This topic is 4811 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I want to use CgFX files for my game engine. I have included CgFXParser.lib and ICgFXEffect.h but when i call const char* Errors = NULL; ICgFXEffect* test = NULL; CgFXCreateEffectFromFileA("C:\\Default.fx", 0, &test, &Errors); the debugger stops the application and an error message shows: "Unhandled exception at 0x003ba420 (CgFXParser.dll) in main.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000." I have tried other fx files which work with other applications.

Advertisement
This is a wild guess, I've NEVER worked with Cg Before, but I think, logically, it's trying to access a null value. and you have two. my guess is that it needs one of them, or both, initialised and pointing to existing objects. how about making one pointer = NULL and the other 0xFFFFFFFF, and see which one pops up in the error message, then initialize that? (My money's on the ICgFXEffect).

Quote:
Original post by Code-R
my guess is that it needs one of them, or both, initialised and pointing to existing objects.

i have found some examples on the internet, which use the function the same way. the first 0 in the function parameters is a parameter for the compiler which may be zero. &test must point to NULL, because you cannot initiate an ICgFXEffect interface class (ie. by new ICgFXEffect).
I have changed the pointer to 0x0000000F but the errormessage still shows 0x00000000.
since i use direct3d, i decided to switch to microsoft's fx format and its interface which works without any strange errors, has more features and should be perfectly connected to the d3ddevice.