Just want to clarify something...

Started by
4 comments, last by Anon Mike 18 years, 7 months ago
I am just starting to learn networking. Like all my other coding so far, I'm learning on my own through my own projects. I promise I won't bother you with questions about the M-word. Anyways, I just wanted to check something. If there were several people connecting to, say, a chat server, then could you identify them each individually by their IP address, no matter what? Let's ignore hackers for a moment. What I wonder is this: Say you had several computers sharing a single internet connection, connected through a router. Now, when you install the router, you assign it an IP address. So my question is, does it broadcast all the computers using it as having the same IP address? I assume not, since that would make it difficult to play MMO games from two computers on the same router, but I want to check. If so, then how do individual computers get identified uniquely? How much info is there to keep track of for each individual person signed onto a server, in terms of unique connection identification? Thanks for your time.
my siteGenius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration
Advertisement
All computers behind a router have the same IP address. If your using sockets then you can use them to identify the computers.
OK. Sorry, obviously I am very new to this. So sockets are kind of like "holes" in your firewall/router that allow you to more or less directly connect to a server of some sort, right?

For example, I am currently logged in on this site. So there is a socket open in my router and firewall that allows my computer to connect directly to gamedev.net? And is there a single socket on the gamedev server that everybody connects to, or is one opened per client?

I'm sure I could figure out this stuff by reading more, but I just wanted to get these couple of points cleared up before I started.

Thanks again.
my siteGenius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration