• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ultimate_Fusion

how to open/run flash movies from c++

This topic is 4812 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am into making games and most games have cut scenes. as i am not passed the 2d stage and dont have a clue about 3d animation i was thinkin it would be easier to get a mate to make a flash movie for my game. so can you play/open flash movies from a c++ concole? if so how? i was think you will need a plugin or use opengl but i need to be pointed in the right direction. cheers

Advertisement
I'm far from an expert with ActiveX or ATL or that stuff, but I got it working, and here's what I had to do (this is in VC6, might be slightly different with another compiler, but it might get you started regardless):

Had the following at the top of my .h file:
#import "C:\Windows\system32\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx" rename_namespace("Flash")

#include <atlbase.h>
extern CComModule _Module;
#include <atlwin.h>

#include <windows.h>

Had the following at the top of my .cpp file:
#pragma comment(lib, "atl")
CComModule _Module;

Variables I used were the following:

HWND hWndContainer;
Flash::IShockwaveFlash* pFlash;

And source code to create and do basic manipulation of the flash control:
hWndContainer = CreateWindowEx(0, "AtlAxWin", "", WS_POPUP | WS_VISIBLE, 0, 0, Width, Height, NULL, NULL, hInstance, NULL);
CLSID clsid;
HRESULT hr = CLSIDFromProgID(OLESTR("ShockwaveFlash.ShockwaveFlash.1"), &clsid);
hr = CoCreateInstance(clsid, NULL, CLSCTX_ALL, __uuidof(Flash::IShockwaveFlash), (void**)&pFlash);
AtlAxAttachControl(pFlash, hWndContainer, NULL);
pFlash->LoadMovie(0, _bstr_t("SomeFile.swf"));
pFlash->PutLoop(VARIANT_FALSE);
pFlash->Rewind();
pFlash->Play();