• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Pxtl

2D .NET Game library?

This topic is 4809 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm getting back into gamecrafting after about a 5 year hiatus. My last game was VB sprite game - this time through I'm using C# and want to make it compatible with opensource platforms, so directX and suchlike is out. I'm considering SDL.NET, but I had bad experiences with PyGame being slow as molasses in the anything but the hardware mode that most guides say not to use.

Advertisement
SDL.NET is probably the best choice if you're coming from Visual Basic. C# is an excellent language no matter what your background. Heck, you can even use SDL.NET with VB.NET if you want. Jendave (the author of SDL.NET) has been very busy with making it compatible with Linux and Mac, you can check out The Absolute Newbie's Guide To SDL.NET on more information about that.

The limitations your talking about with PyGame are the results of the limitations from SDL. SDL uses bitmapped surfaces for rendering, therefore implementating rotations and zooming on these surfaces is slow. If you think your game requires a lot of complex rotations and scaling, you might want to go with OpenGL via the Tao Framework. SDL.NET implements use of SDL_gfx's rotozoom library for rotation and scaling of surface objects. Just be aware that those opperations are slow so you might want to cache the rotations in memory instead of doing the rotations realtime.

This raises an interesting question.

I originally thought that the general slowness of PyGame was because of Python itself, not because of SDL. Soooooooo, which is it? Granted, this question is coming from a complete newbie, so I don't really know what the slowdown is. (besides, y'know, the virtual machine bit that Python implements)

Thanks! :D