• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
j14rk1n

[java] Java particle engine

This topic is 4801 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been programming in java for around 6 months, and just got into graphics. (Finally!) I finished a particle engine, in which there's simulated gravity that affects the particles in different ways. I've been able to get basic physics working(bouncing/reflection), but that's where I'm stuck. I'd like to start on a physics engine/particle editor now, but I'm lost when it comes to the math behind it all. I have a few questions before I start though: Do physics engines run on timers or a timing system? If so, I guess that's what I'd use to calculate motion and properties. Are there any good physics sites with computer-oriented formulas? Like... stuff I'd find in a physics 101 textbook. Do you like my particle engine? You can use the directional keys to set the gravity, and space resets it all. http://johnlarkin.f2g.net/CrazyParticles/main.html Thanks in advance for answers :)

Advertisement
I got this error from it: (could just be my browser)

java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ParticleTester (Unsupported major.minor version 49.0)

Volume 10 issue 6 of the magazine JDJ (http://jdj.sys-con.com/) had an article on building a particle system for java3d.

I wrote a tutorial on building a particle engine which used a time value to determine position. I wrote it for DarkBasic users though. Here's the basic equation I used:

x = v*cos(a)*t
y = v*sin(a)*t - ½gt²

If you wanted to do this in 3D, "x" would basically be the distance from the emitter, so you'd have:

d = v*cos(a)*t
x = cos(da)*d
y = v*sin(a)*t - ½gt²
z = sin(da)*d

Not a very fancy particle engine, but gives a nice fountain effect. Angles "a" and "da" control the angle of elevation and Y-rotation around the emitter, respectively.

Quote: