• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
andhow

Multithreaded DirectX, but not really

This topic is 4807 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a situation where I may or may not need to use the D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED behavior flag, and I cannot find enough information from the MSDN documentation. First, for everyone who will say "you don't need multithreading in games" because they think I'm a newb, yes, I do, its for doing file i/o, heavy frame-independent computation, and other blocking operations. Things are loaded as needed (aka no loading screen) so obviously the above operations need to happen during gameplay, but not in the main thread. With that out of the way.... The IDirect3DDevice9 is used in multiple threads, so that would initially indicate that the D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED behavior flag is necessary. However, the device is never actually accessed simultaneously from both threads (the synchronization occurs at a higher level and is therefore unnecessary). So my question is this: does the D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED flag affect more than just sychronization but perhaps usage of Thread Local Storage or something else? Microsoft APIs tend to have odd (but I suppose efficient) thread requirements like "PeekMessage can only be called in the thread that created the HWND". Based on the SDK, it only mentions a critical section and possible performance loss (due to contention), which would make me think that if you sychronize the device yourself, then you don't need the flag. Does anyone know whether or not sychronizing access to the device is sufficient to drop the D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED flag? Thanks

Advertisement
If you're doing the synchronisation yourself, I don't think you'll need the multithreaded flag. Certain D3D funcions can only be called from the thread used to create the device (E.g. Reset()).