• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mafian

Cell phone threads

This topic is 4835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just started coding for cell phones, and naturally ive been pouring through sample applications to get the swing of things. There have been a couple of key differences that I have noticed between the apps I have seen and my traditional programming style. For example, imagine an application that shows a bunch of black balls floating around the screen, bouncing off the screen edges. On a PC, I would make a Ball class, give it a "run" method for processing movement and bouncing, and give it a "draw" method for drawing it to screen. I would then make an array of these objects, and during the game loop, I would execute each ball's "run" method and each balls "draw" method before swapping screen buffers. It seems like on cell phones, though, developers tend to start a thread for each ball (or other finite state machine). The thread processes movement and then makes a request for a repaint clipped to its region. So if you have 20 balls, you have 20 seperate threads, each one updating a balls position and then requesting a redraw. My question is this: due to the inherent capabilities of cell phone hardware and software, is the 40-thread method better suited for higher performance? Would it be possible to go with the traditional single thread application where all objects are updated and then drawn before making a single repaint call? I find one thread and one redraw to be much easier to contemplate, and I may be wrong, but I also assume it would run more efficiently that way.

Advertisement