• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ned_K

[.net] Make the case please...

This topic is 4826 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Why would I want to make a game under the auspices of .net? I have little experience with it and am curious what the people who use it actually think. I didn't see this answered in the FAQ so I'm just posing the general question. What REAL, measurable advantages does it gain me?

Advertisement

.NET is...

* A Marchitecture. In other words, the name is applied to a whole rake of different, but related, technologies, not all of which are necessarily relevant to your needs.

* A Platform. You don't write for "Windows" any more; you write for the '.NET Platform'. ANY operating system with a working implementation of the .NET runtime could, in theory, run your game. Thus .NET is also...

* An Abstraction Layer. The .NET Common Language Runtime is similar (in a superficial way) to Java in that it hides the underlying operating system and hardware from you, the developer. It means you no longer need to think about optimising for _either_ an Athlon64 CPU or an Intel CPU or even a VIA Eden flavour of CPU. In future, you could even (theoretically) find your software running on a MacIntel box.

* A bloody massive improvement on the archaic Win32 architecture. Win32 (and its immediate ancestor) still retains elements of its Pascal heritage. (Yes folks, early versions of Windows were written in Pascal, not C. This is why some older functions require you to jump through strange argument-passing hoops.)