[java] cloning objects correctly

Started by
5 comments, last by CaptainJester 18 years, 6 months ago
As I just learned, cloning in Java can't be achieved by using a "copy constructor". You have to implement the Interface Cloneable instead and call super.clone() in your own clone() method for a shallow copy. After that, you must take whatever steps necessary to make a deep copy (if that is the desired behavior). As I've never done this before I post the clone() methods of two of my classes and would ask you to check if I got this right: shallow copy of two int values:

public class Slice implements Cloneable
{
	private int _bot;
	private int _top;

[...]

public Object clone()
	{
		Slice that = null;
		try
		{
			that = (Slice) super.clone();
		}
		catch (CloneNotSupportedException e)
		{
			e.printStackTrace();
			System.exit(-1);
		}
		return that;
	}
}

array has to be copied to get a deep copy, rest is shallow:

public class Piece implements Cloneable
{
	private Slice[] _slice;
	private int _capacity;
	private int _left;
	private int _right;

[...]

public Object clone()  
	{
		assert isReduced() : "Vorbedingung verletzt: isReduced()";
		Piece that = null;
		try
		{
			that = (Piece) super.clone();
		}
		catch (CloneNotSupportedException e)
		{
			e.printStackTrace();
			System.exit(-1);
		}

that._slice = new Slice[_capacity];

for (int i=_left; i<_right; i++)
		{
			that._slice = (Slice) _slice.clone();
		}

assert that.isReduced() : "Nachbedingung verletzt: result.isReduced()";
		return that;
	}
}

Is there any way to get rid of these nasty typecasts? I thought I would have gotten rid of them at last with the introduction of generics.
Advertisement
You call super.clone() to make it a deep copy. But you also have to copy your own data.