Sign in to follow this  
MrM

Transformation Problem

Hi! I'm new to DX buit not to CG so i know how to use a Matrix but DX kills me.. :( here is what i try to do:
			m_Device.SetTexture(0,this.texture);
			m_Device.SetStreamSource(0, GraphicBuffer, 0);
			m_Device.VertexFormat=CustomVertex.TransformedTextured.Format;
			m_Device.Transform.World = Matrix.Translation(100.0f,0.0f,0.0f);
			m_Device.DrawPrimitives(PrimitiveType.TriangleStrip, 0, 2);
			m_Device.Transform.World = Matrix.Translation(-100.0f,0.0f,0.0f);
But nothing happens... The Object is drawn like before... ??? Anyone an idea why?

hmm ... shouldn't there be a "SetIndices" somewhere ?
I don't know managed DirectX, but in C++, you make a SetStreamSource(), a SetIndices() and a DrawPrimitive(). If one of the 3 misses, it failes ^^

Edit : As said by Omid, it's only for indexed primitives, sorry I misread the intia
initial post ^^''

[Edited by - paic on October 7, 2005 8:44:07 AM]

Hello,

paic, that is only when you are drawing indexed primitives =)

MrM,
Is that which you are showing all your code? In that case your problem here is that
you have to redraw your scene!
D3D works like this:
You set the device ( texture, matrices, e.t.c )
Then you draw

Any changes to the device after drawing will NOT affect what you have already drawn.

Since I don't know your goal, I can't help you more than to just point out the error!
But if you still have problems, let us know what you are trying to do, and we will gladly help you with a solution =)

Hope this helps!

Regards,
/Omid

Sorry!

For shure there is more code but it is elsewhere...

these 4 lines are executed in another object.

the device this points to is already set to

device.BeginScene();

and after the code i do

device.EndScene();
device.Present();

hmm.. donؤT think there is something missing?
because the Polygons are drawn.. but the transformation takes no effect..
here is how i set my vertices: (just a Quad with a texture)