Sign in to follow this  
Halma

OpenGL speed: glRotatef vs. glMultMatrix

Halma    146
Hi, I'm writing a particle engine, and I'm going to be rendering a lot of billboard sprites. In order to get the sprites oriented correctly, I'm going to have to rotate them to face the camera. Now, here is my question: Would it be faster to compute and save the rotation angles, and then call glRotatef once or twice per billboard, or should I compute the matrix once and call glMultMatrix every time? (I intend on using the same rotation for all sprites, because I don't think it would make a noticeable difference if I compute the billboarding separately for each little sprite.) Would it work if I put the rotations in a display list? Would that be faster than calling the glWhatever? Or maybe I should put the rotation+render in a display list? I'm a bit new to OpenGL, please help me figure out a fast way to do this. Thanks everyone!

timw    598
glrotatef

1) creates a rotation matrix
2) multiplies that matrix with the current active matrix.

so if you're calling it over and over with the same arguments(ie building the same rotation matrix every time) then you're wasting time. just remember what it's doing 1 and 2 and use that to determin if what you're planning to do is faster. I'd say if you're constantly using the same matrix, then just build it once and use glmulmatrix it has to be faster then glrotate. but if you're building different matrix's all the time then glrotate takes basically the same time for the above stated reasons and might even be more efficent.

Tim

Halma    146

Thanks for the replies!

I had a suspicion glRotatef would be doing something like that, but I thought maybe the graphics card had a way of computing and multiplying the matrix really fast, and that sending the matrix from the cpu to the graphics card would be slow.