• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Undeadlnsanity

Hardware programming?

This topic is 4667 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is just for educational purpouses, but I'm wondering, how would I go about programming for hardware. E.G. Things such as electronic watches, games on a small console type thing, controls for a car radio on so on. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Advertisement
assembly, embedded programming, j2me.
google those.

actually, i'll put it this way. depending on the device those are normally your 3 choices. for pdas, phones, j2me should be fine. older phones and pda you might have to go with assembly or c.

then again i'm no expert.

That's far too broad a question really. Those things cover such a vast variety of methods. Generally the smaller the thing, the more likely that ASM will be the language used, and the smaller the native integer size, and addressing mode. Whilst the larger and more powerful the thing, the more likely C/C++ or other higher-level languages are used.
Whilst a console may used 64-bit programming, PC's use mostly 32/64bit, smaller devices tend to use 16/32 bit addressing, and smaller things still may use 8-bit, or anything between 8 & 16-bit I guess. I've worked on a device that used both 16 and 32-bit addressing although there were only 20 address lines that could be used (1MB) except that we packed 4MB into the thing and manually toggled some other micro outputs in order to select the other RAM chips (a bit nasty in other words).
When you get down to the smaller devices, the programming gets very specific, with low level things like directly setting the pins on the micro low or high, and writing interrupt routines and watchdogs etc.