texture won't show up

Started by
7 comments, last by RhoneRanger 18 years, 6 months ago
This is my first time using HLSL so I decided to try a really simple shader that positions the vertex and adds a texture using both vertex and pixel shaders. The problem is that my texture won't show up, it just shows up a dull white color. Here's the shader ( i got it from the DXSDK:

//--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Global variables
//--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
float	 g_fTime;					// App's time in seconds
float4x4 g_mWorld;					// World matrix for object
float4x4 g_mWorldViewProjection;	// World * View * Projection matrix
texture  g_txScene;
sampler  g_samScene =
sampler_state
{
    Texture = <g_txScene>;
    MinFilter = Linear;
    MagFilter = Linear;
    MipFilter = Linear;
};
void VertScene( float4 Pos : POSITION,
                float2 Tex : TEXCOORD0,
                out float4 oPos : POSITION,
                out float2 oTex : TEXCOORD0 )
{
    oPos = mul( Pos, g_mWorldViewProjection );
    oTex = Tex;
}
float4 PixScene( float2 Tex : TEXCOORD0 ) : COLOR0
{
    return tex2D( g_samScene, Tex );
}
// Techniques
technique RenderScene
{
    pass P0
    {    
        VertexShader = compile vs_1_1 VertScene();
        PixelShader = compile ps_1_1 PixScene();
    }
}

Does anyone know what might be causing the problem? Thanks

---------------------------------darkzim

Advertisement

sampler g_samScene .......

should be

sampler2D g_samScene, as the keyword sampler is not compatible with ps 1_1.
TechleadEnilno, the Ultima 2 projectwww.dr-code.org/enilno
Thanks for the reply
I changed it, but the texture still isn't showing up.
Here's my code that I use to render the thing: