• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ThunderMusic_80

Where do I start? and then go on with...?

This topic is 4814 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm very new to game development, even if I've visited the forums a few times, I don't know exactly where to start to get things right. I want to make a game, not something big, just something like a trivial pursuit or monopoly, just to get the basics. The thing is, I don't know where to start. The models are quite easy : the board, the tokens and everything. But When I have all the models and textures, what's with the code? I thought I should start with the game logic, I should be able to play all the game using the console, then after go with the graphics. Is it the good way to start or it will require too many changes afterward? I will program in C++ as I am pretty used to it (after some years). The thing is, I don't know much about how I should integrate the graphics in all this. As example, for my token, it should move on the board. In my console version I could make it move from one place to the other without caring for the animation in between. In the graphical version, I must care about the animation, so should I just inherit the Token class to add the animation? but where do I put my model for the token? should it be a property of the class Token or should the Token class call some methods and properties on another class (like, TokenModel)? As I said, I'm very new to all this, so I'd appréciate some good advices. Thanks ThunderMusic_80

Advertisement