[java] To use OpenGL or DirectX?

Started by
12 comments, last by Lucidquiet 18 years, 6 months ago
I'm pretty new to the game developing world (excluding text-based browser games). I think I'm ready to evolve into something a bit more so to speak. =) Was wondering if I should use OpenGL or DirectX for Java 3D Programming? Like the cons, pros, etc. Yes, Google was a friend, but didn't find enough information to exactly go on one's side (by a lot anyway).
Advertisement
EDIT: Oops, didn't see the Java bit, so what I say may not apply. I know nothing about DX implementations for Java.

I haven't used DX much, but I think these points are worth considering...

OpenGL

Pros:
. Little initialization, so creating apps is easy
. NeHe's tutorials are great for beginners

Cons:
. The nature of the ARB board and Extensions mean that using new technologies can be difficult and confusing
. No SDK

DirectX

Pros:
. Everything you need is in one package
. The SDK comes with some extremely useful examples, especially of some of the more advanced concepts

Cons:
. Initialization can be long and confusing

[Edited by - MumbleFuzz on October 11, 2005 5:25:59 PM]
MumbleFuzz
Just before this thread totally degrades, I want to doubly bring attention to the fact that he is using java, which throws a bit of a wrench in things.
SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
For Java, you say? I'm not aware of any Direct3D bindings for Java, so your choice of language limits you to OpenGL (unless I'm wrong, in which case, please point that out.) There are a few ways to use OpenGL in Java- the best I've come accross is LWJGL. I'm using it for my current project, and I'm very happy with it. Bear in mind that the documentation is a work-in-progress, though.
the rug - funpowered.com