Sign in to follow this  
happySam

Could we use Poser models in our game?

Hi experts, I am a beginner. I just begin to learn Poser 4. In some web sites, some people we can use poser models in making games and some say we cannot(they even say it is illegal to do so,too). I am quite confused. COULD WE USE POSER MODELS IN MAKING OUR GAME? In Poser websites, it mentions many examples use in game industry.(If we cannot use Poser models in our daily life, what is the use of "Poser"?) Thanks in advance. Sam

You can use 2D renders of Poser models in games (as sprites) but you cannot use the actual 3D model.

Most Pser figures are also far too high poly to use in 3D games anyway.

Bursar, please do not spread misinformation.

Of course you can use the 3D data of models created with Poser in your own applications. If you create your characters yourself, without using the default ones that come with Poser, then you have full ownership over their copyright, and you're free to do whatever you want with them.

You can also use the models that come with Poser, provided that you distribute the data in a proprietary and closed format only readable by your application (ie. you cannot distribute original Poser models as eg. 3DS files, because they are not proprietary. You must convert them into your own fileformat, same with the textures).

OK, you stick V3 in your game as a model and I'll watch as you try to explain to the DAZ lawyers that it's OK because you converted the model to a proprietry format...

The same applies to the included Poser figures. Take a look at the EULA. If you can post the bit that says you can do what you are suggesting, then I'll come back and give you an apology.

But with regard to models that you create in Poser, you are right, you can distribute those, but that's not what I interpreted the OP as wanting to do.

Quote:
Original post by Bursar