Sign in to follow this  
Handyman54

Helping people new at programming!

Hi all! I would like to tell any newbies to programming that i am willing to help with any problems you are having! I am new at programming also but I am learning more every week at my school. I right now at this time am making a text adventure. So if you have any questions just call on me! P.S. does anyone know how to put a random monster generator and how to subtract as in money? It's for my game. I just need a refresher on that! Thanks all

Quote:
Original post by Handyman54
Hi all! I would like to tell any newbies to programming that i am willing to help with any problems you are having!

Great!
Quote:
P.S. does anyone know how...subtract?

While I admire your willingness to help, Handyman, keep in mind that sometimes it is more helpful to remain silent then to offer up guesses that aren't supported by experience. Learning to tell good advice from bad is a very difficult skill for a lot of people, and many of those people are in the For Beginners forum. The best thing you can do for these people is concentrate on learning yourself, so that you can better help them in the future.

I would imagine that if you were using the modern day american system, you would either multiply the amount by 100 and get how much cents, or use one int for the dollar amount and one for the cents, trying to avoid floats as much as possible.

Quote:
Original post by ender7771trying to avoid floats as much as possible.

....Why?

Id either just use a float, or probably better still just store the amount in cents, which you can then display as dollars/cents fairly easy. You could even write a little class that handles it all (and overload the + - operators...)

Handyman, being available to help others is always a good thing. Just be sure your not ever giving out bad or incorrect advice ;) Spend some time making sure you fully understand everything your doing first =)

Quote:
Original post by Anonymous Poster