Sign in to follow this  
Boder

[4E4] #5: Against the Dead

Image hosted by TinyPic.com
One of the top entries in my opinion. Not too big to download and lots of fun shooting action. At first I was like mmmmm FLLLASSH. But then I was like KICKASSS. I gave it a shot. The menus are cool. I don't like the gradient bars tho. Then I started playing and it all added up. Good sound, strategy that takes some time to learn, cartoony graphics, screechs and death-cries, upgrades like an RPG, everything. The way everything reloads. . . the polish of the gameplay ... perfect pacing. This game is a gem to me. And a perfect length IMO. Has *cartoony graphics *lots of weapons *strategy *lots of enemies *levels, upgrades *story Needs *less typos *maybe some power-ups *can't think of much [Edited by - Boder on November 3, 2005 5:16:26 PM]

Definately agreed - for what it is (turret shooter? What would you call it?), it's really a gem. I can't see myself throwing days or weeks into the game, but it's that perfect length for a quick play every now and then.

I could wish for better move responsiveness at times, but I think that's all intentional... strategy, rather than fast clicky action - even if my FPS-trained fingers don't seem to grasp that concept ;)

Agreed. When I started it up it seemed pretty simple, but I gave the first couple of levels a shot, and I couldn't quit until I'd finished the game. It just all fits together, and it's pretty hard to quit before you're done.

Same here, I really liked this entry. I couldnt stop playing because I needed to upgrade ALL of my weapons :). In the end it was a bit easy, I only died once the entire game. There is a really simple strategy to beat the game, and that is: leave the weakest zombie alive in 3 or 4 lanes, they are easy to knock back and move slowly. Then keep killing whatever is in the final lane so you don't accidentally get overwhelmed by vampires, ninjas, or kangsi's.