Just how difficult is it to break into the industry?

Started by
13 comments, last by Kylotan 18 years, 5 months ago
Hello. I am a fifteen year old programmer, who has been yearning to make games since he could type on a keyboard. Ever since I got my first computer and programming book at 10 years old, I have been trying to learn how to do it. I have programmed in QuickBASIC, Visual BASIC, ANSI C, and then in C#, where I currently am trying to learn how to do it. After I'm able to do interesting stuff in C# with my engine, I plan on relearning ANSI C and C++ so I can work with an industry standard language. It hasn't been until recently that I finally actually started the process. Whether this was because of age, or the book I bought (Managed Direct X for Game Developers) I do not know, but because of this I have questions I need answered as to my future. I would like to see this question answered in the FAQ, as it is very relevant. 1. Just how hard is it to get into the industry? I have heard many conflicting statements, from those saying it is impossibly difficult, and others saying it's easy if you really want to. Is it true that if I try hard and am serious about what I am doing that I will have more-or-less no problem? 2. How much will I make? I'm not in it for the money, but will the money I make actually be able to feed me and a family? My parents (and I) are scared about this, and because of this, I will be majoring in Embedded Systems (very similar to, if not the same as, electronic engineering) because electronics is something else I'm interested in, and I know for sure I can get a job in (there are sixty jobs open in a local business right now!) 3. How qualified am I as opposed to how qualified I have to be? Do I have to be a child prodigy to be able to get into the industry? What skills are necessary and what can I do right now to maximize my acceptability? Is what I am doing right now going to help or hurt me? I'm sure you've gotten questions like this,